And the Winners Are….

And the Winners Are….

On April 5, 2012, eleven of Grant County’s outstanding graduating seniors were honored with the Community Foundation’s Academic Excellence Awards. 

Miranda Fuchs from Marion High School and Lanora Osborne from Mississinewa High School each received the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.  Now known as “Lilly Scholars”, they will receive full tuition for four years to the Indiana college of their choice, plus a $900 stipend for required books and equipment.

Miranda Fuchs, daughter of Stephen Fuchs and Tamela Holt, ranks second in her class with a 4.0 gpa and plans to study visual communications at Indiana Wesleyan University. 

Miranda Fuchs, Lilly Scholar 2012

Lanora Osborne, daughter of Michael and Linda Osborne ranks first in her class with a 3.90 gpa.  She plans to study pharmacy at Butler University.

Lanora Osborne, Lilly Scholar 2012
Other Lilly finalists included Eastbrook’s Chris Pak, King’s Academy’s Rebekah Miner, Madison-Grant’s Lyndsay Christensen, and Oak Hill’s Kendall Drook.  Each of these students received a $1,500 scholarship from the Academic Excellence Fund held within the Foundation.

Each year, Grant County accredited high schools are asked to nominate one representative for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Award.  The representatives must be Grant County residents and have a minimum 3.5 grade point average.  Selection criteria also include scholastic achievement, attitude, character, desire, and school and community involvement.

After the Community Foundation’s scholarship selection committee narrows the field of representatives to two nominees and one alternate, the finalists’ names are submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for selection of the recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited, degree granting, nonprofit independent colleges and universities in the state.

In addition, five $1,000 Academic Excellence Scholarships were awarded to Lacy Hamilton and Angel Downam from Madison Grant High School, Amy Conrad from Marion High School, Alison Avery from Mississinewa High School, and Alissa Combs from Oak Hill High School.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.