Robert R. Board and Janis M. Board Fund

Total Granted*
Total Donations*

*Updated on October 15, 2021.

Fund Purpose:
The purpose of this fund is to provide scholarships for educational purposes.

Fund Story:
In February of 1996, the Community Foundation received its largest donation up until that point: One million dollars.

A few months before he passed away at the age of 98, Robert Board made this charitable contribution to open up the Robert R. Board and Janis M. Board Fund.

“It is my hope and belief that this fund will enhance the Grant County Community by assisting students who have experienced outstanding academic achievement but who have limited financial means available to further their education,” said Board.

He earned his livelihood in the Grant County area and wanted to be able to give back. Board’s gift of one million dollars was matched by a $500,000 gift from the Lilly Endowment.

Robert Board was born in Chrisman, Illinois, and at the age of 12, moved in with his cousin Jack Foster because of familial problems. Robert served in the army from 1916 to 1919 with the 130th Infantry American Expeditionary Forces near the Mexican Border and also in France during World War I. He attended the University of Illinois, and in 1934, he moved to Marion to help his cousin Foster run his glass factory. Board became president of Foster-Forbes Glass Co. (Ball-Foster) in 1965 and served there until he retired in 1980.

Robert’s first wife Madge died in 1966 at the Mayo Clinic, and in the late 1960’s, he married Janis Caldwell who had two sons, Jack and Dick.

Robert was an active member of the Marion community. He was a member of Frist Presbyterian Church and was president of the Glass Container Institute Research Corp. He served as the board president of National Can Corp., NBD Bank, Marion General Hospital, Community Chest of Grant County, Marion Chamber of Commerce and the Glass Container Manufacturers Institute.

“He had one of the brightest minds I have ever been around,” said Larry Myers, former foundation board president. “That’s why he was successful in business. He was dedicated and had a huge heart.”

Robert had a strong sense of family and cared for the community. He is remembered as a wonderful, compassionate man who understood the importance of higher education for youth and was proactive in making that belief realized.

Fund Impact:


Christian Allen Logan Dooley Matthew Knight Lena Pederson
Alexandra Armstrong Clayton Drook Hannah Kochanek Chelsea Rahrar
Brandon Arven Bethany Duckwall Kyle Kohlmorgen Evelina Ramirez
Addessa L. Baity Jeffery Duckwall Mary (Molly) Kuczora Daniel Robb
Bradley Belcher Daniel E. Durkes Mikayla Kyker Olivia Roberts
Bradley Belcher Jarred L. Eib Maggie LaBarr Haleigh Rowley
Ezra Biggs Kathryn Erickson Ashlynn Lewis Heidi Rowley
Garrett Bireline Kaleb Evans Olivia C. Lewton Camille Scales
Stephen L. Briles Melissa K. Ewer Jamie N Lindsay Kelsay Scott
Evan Browder Jack Fauser Jamie N Owsley-Lindsay Katelyn Shouse
Sarah M. Brown Carli Fones Dooley Logan Samantha Simison
Sabrina Butcher Eliza Fry Kayla M. Mack Ryan Slater
Samuel Cerny Evan George Matthew McAdams Isaac Slaughter
Samuel Cerny Erin Harris-Gordon James McCarthy Ryan Smith
Nivan Chowattukenel Jonathon C. Greene Mae McCarthy Rene Spaulding
Nivan Chowattukunnel Bayley Grieve Brad R. McCracken Andrew Spitzer
Nithia M. Chowattukunnel Silas Guyre Kristen McDaniel Nicholas Spitzer
Nithia Chowattukunnel Laci Haisley Thomas J. Milford Marley Starnes
Hannah D. Clevenger Hilary Harris Sammie Miles III Brandon Stone
Thomas J. Collins Derek Harvey Brenna Miller Jared Strand
Maria Contreras Cassie Hawkins Geralyn Miller Seth Strand
Jamie Cox  Ben Hineman Hazel Moore Haley Swafford
Collen Cramer Tiffanie Hix-Hodson Michelle A. Moore Joshua Terrell
Amanda S. Craun Erik Holder Samuel Morehead Kristin Terrell
Broderick Crosby Wesley Hull David Mui Ashlyn Titus
Alexandria Crouse Mishele D. Hunt Nihal Nagesh Jacob W. Vogel
Victoria Crouse Cherie E. Huston Madeline Nall April D. Walker
Iurie Cuciuc Kiers Joel Sheena M. Apple-Nester Audrey West
Jennifer P. Daniel Joelle Johnson Korbett O’Banion Lyndsey Westfall
Corey Deaton Ayawana Kemp Amy L. Osborne David Wiley
Anna Deisler Joel P. Kiers Daniel Jennifer P. Alexander Winter
Samantha Derby Jenna King Matthew R Parlee Gracelyn Winters
Maylee Didion Faith Kitts Lynne L. Payne Meira Woolridge
Devon Dill Taylor Kitts Charles Peacock Tara N. Yanis


Click here to apply for Community Foundation scholarships.

Fund Page Details:
Donating to this fund will increase the impact of its charitable fund purpose and grantmaking abilities. Clicking “Give Online” will allow you to make a charitable gift to this fund held at the Community Foundation of Grant County. Or mail your check to our office instead by using this donation form. Additionally, gifts of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, real estate, insurance, and estate plans are also accepted.

*The amount listed above may not be up-to-date. Call the Community Foundation for the most up-to-date fund balances.



Tell your friends about this fund

Contact Us

Shelly Jones

Development Manager